Thursday, April 12, 2018

Crowd Surf---Buy one of these books and make the LA event happen with Amy Dresner, Erica Garza and I


So check out Amy and Erica's memoir and if you are interested buy them with the link below. Of course, buy mine too---but this campaign will allow our reading to happen!!

To support buy ANY of the three books at their Event Brite Site 

I have a reading at The Last Bookstore in LA, when I'm out there on May 9--but there's a policy at The Last Bookstore

"We are now selling tickets for our events, as opposed to holding events that are free and unticketed. The price of the ticket is simply the cost of the book, although ticket-holders also have the option of spending an additional $3 for a guaranteed seat. Events will still be free and available for anybody to attend, but only ticket-holders will be guaranteed a book or a book & seat. We generally will not order more than a few extra copies of your book(s) than tickets sold, in order to keep costs down.
And that’s why the bookstore started this new system: to be able to continue to offer events like this one. Our overhead costs for each event are such that we need to sell 25 books at each in order to break even on the money we put in. The new model works a little like crowd-funding: we'll start promoting the event now, and if we've sold 25 tickets up to two weeks prior to the event, the event will take place. If not, it will be canceled."

So to help you can buy ANY of the three books at their Event Brite Site 

Which means you can stay home too, you darn hermits. So, Out of towners in LA people...buy a "ticket" and you can pick any book....for mailing choose the extra reserve seat option which will pay for shipping

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


The Last Bookstore presents three authors, in recovery, and all with remarkable stories, on how they lived. Dresner, My Fair Junkie - A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean, and Garza, Getting Off, are well known for their memoirs, while in Gager's Every Day There is Something About Elephants, he uses his tools of recovery in the craft and subjects matter of his flash fiction writing.

My Fair Junkie A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Staying Clean - In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman's twenty-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side.

Getting Off - A courageous account of one woman’s unflinching and ultimately hopeful journey through sex and porn addiction. A fixation on porn and orgasm, strings of failed relationships and serial hook-ups with strangers, inevitable blackouts to blunt the shame – these are not things we often hear women share publicly, and not with the candor, eloquence and introspection Erica Garza brings to Getting Off.

Every Day There is Something About Elephants - Gager's book consists of 108 flash fictions, ranging from 72 to 1,159 words. Every story has appeared previously in print or on the web. The stories show the range within the form of flash fiction, from narrative poem, shorter short story, to trips to bizarro-world where strange events evoke solid meaning and metaphor. Timothy has had over 500 total works features and these 108 are the best of the best.
Amy Dresner is a former professional stand-up comic, having appeared at The Comedy Store, The Laugh Factory, and The Improv. Since 2012, she has been a contributing editor of the online addiction and recovery magazine TheFix.com. She’s also written for the Good Men Project, The Frisky, Refinery 29, and has been a regular contributor to Addiction.com and PsychologyToday.com, where she has her own addiction blog entitled “Coming Clean.” My Fair Junkie is her debut book. Visit her website: www.amydresner.com

Born in Los Angeles to Mexican parents, Erica Garza has spent most of her adult life traveling and living abroad. She currently lives in Los Angeles with her husband and daughter. Erica’s essays have appeared in Salon, Narratively, BUST, Marie Claire, Good Housekeeping, Refinery29, Bustle, Alternet, Vivala, HelloGiggles, the Los Angeles Review, and Australia’s Mamamia and The Motherish. She has appeared as a guest on BBC Radio 4, Thom Hartmann’s The Big Picture, and August McLaughlin’s Girl Boner Radio. In 2010, she earned her MFA in Creative Nonfiction at Columbia University. Her memoir on sex addiction, Getting Off, is her first book.

Timothy Gager is the author of fourteen books of short fiction and poetry. Every Day There Is Something About Elephants, a book of 108 flash fictions, selected by over fifty-five editors, was released by Big Table Publishing in 2018. He's hosted the successful Dire Literary Series in Cambridge, Massachusetts since 2001 and was the co-founder of The Somerville News Writers Festival. He has had over 500 works of fiction and poetry published and of which thirteen have been nominated for the Pushcart Prize. His work has been read on National Public Radio.

please note: events that do not reach a 25 ticket minimum will be canceled




 
Post a Comment