Saturday, April 7, 2012

2012 Boston National Poetry Month Festival at Boston Public Library


 I will be reading, Saturday 4/28....


                Now In Its Successful TWELFTH!!! Year
     CO-SPONSORS:  Tapestry of Voices & Kaji Aso Studio in partnership with the Boston Public Library, SAVE the DATES: Saturday, April 28th 10:00 A.M.- 4:40 P.M. OPEN MIKE: 1:30 to 3:00P.M.; & Sunday, April 29thth, 1:10 to 4:30P.M. The Festival will be held at the library’s main branch in Copley Square. FREE ADMISSION

56 Major  and Emerging poets will each do a ten minute reading; ALSO

Featuring 6 extraordinarily talented prize winning high school students: from Boston Latin High School, Justin Singletary; Boston Arts Academy, Yolani Cruz and Molly Pope; Boston University Academy: Alessandra Davy-Falconi. Winner of the Helen Creeley Poetry Prize; Acton-Boxborough Regional: Soubhik Barari, winner of the Helen Creeley National Poetry High School Prize. These student stars will open  the Festival at 10:00 A.M.  SAM CORNISH, Boston’s current and first Poet Laureate will open the formal part  of the Festival at 11:00 A.M. 55 additional major  and emerging poets will follow with a
                                                           POETRY MARATHON

Some of the many  luminaries include SAM CORNISH, , Rhina P. Espaillat,  , Richard Wollman ,Christine Casson, Dan Tobin, Jennifer Barber,  Alfred Nicol, Kathleen Spivack , Doug Holder, Elizabeth Doran, Richard Hoffman, Lucy Holstedt Charles Coe,  Kim Triedman,  Ryk McIntyre, January O’Neil ,  Regie O’Gibson, Kate Finnegan (Kaji Aso Studio), Victor Howes, Susan Donnelly, Jack Scully, Rene Schwiesow, Chad Parenteau, Linda Larson, Tomas O’Leary,  Marc Goldfinger, Gloria Mindock, Timothy Gager, Diana Saenz, Stuart Peterfreund, Valerie Lawson, Michael Brown, Mignon Ariel King, Tom Daley, Molly Lynn Watt, Ifeanyi Menkiti, Lainie Senechal, Harris Gardner, Joanna Nealon, Walter Howard,   Susan Donnelly, Zvi Sesling,  Irene Koronas, Fred Marchant, Sheila Twyman, Robert K. Johnson, Suzanne E. Berger, and a Plethora of other prize winning poets.

This Festival has it all: Professional published  poets, celebrities, numerous prize winners, student  participation, OPEN MIKE.
Even more, it is about community, neighborhoods, diversity, Boston, and Massachusetts. This popular tradition is the largest event in Boston’s Contribution to National Poetry Month.  FREE ADMISSION !!!
FOR INFORMATION: Tapestry of Voices: 617-306-9484
Library: 617-536-5400

Wheelchair accessible. Assistive listening devices available. To request a sign language interpreter, or for other special needs, call 617-536-7855(TTY) at least two weeks before the program date.       


Rabb Lecture Hall - Middle and High Schools, Saturday 4/28
10:00 Boston Latin High School - 
10:10 Boston Latin High School - Justin Singletary 
10:20 Boston Arts Academy - Yolandi Cruz 10:30 Boston Arts Academy - Molly Pope 
10:40 Boston Arts Academy - 
10:50 Boston Arts Academy -

OPEN MIKE 1:30-3:00 - Rooms 5-6

Rabb Lecture Hall 

11:00 Sam Cornish

11:10 Elizabeth McKim
11:20 Regie O. Gibson

11:30 Joanna Nealon
11:40 Sheila Twyman
11:50 Chad Parenteau
12:00 Carol Weston
12:10 Robert K. Johnson
12:20 Walter Howard
12:30 Ryk McIntyre
12:40 Kate Finnegan 
         for Kaji Aso Studios 
12:50 Kim Triedman

1:00 Linda Larson
1:10 Molly Bennett
1:20 Irene Koronas
1:30 Philip E. Burnham, Jr
Rabb Lecture Hall - continued
1:40 Frank Blessington

1:50 Valerie Lawson
2:00 Diana Saenz
2:10 Lucy Holstedt
2:20 Michael Brown
2:30 Ron Goba
2:40 Elizabeth Doran
2:50 Tomas O’Leary
3:00 Timothy Gager
3:10 Jack Scully
3:20 Rene Schwiesow
3:30 Carolyn Gregory
3:40 Suzanne E. Berger
3:50 Molly Watt4:00 Richard Hoffman
4:10 Jan Schreiber
4:20 Mignon Ariel King
4:30 Susan Donnelly
Rabb Lecture Hall1:10 Tom Daley
1:20 Ifeanyi Menkiti
1:30 Lo Galluccio
1:40 Dan Tobin
1:50 Kathleen Spivack
2:00 Gloria Mindock
2:10 Christine Casson
2:20 Lainie Senechal
2:30 Zvi Sesling
2:40 Rhina P. Espaillat
2:50 Harris Gardner
3:00 Stuart Peterfreund
3:10 Victor Howes
3:20 Alfred Nicol
3:30 Marc Goldfiinger
3:40 Charles Coe
3:50 Doug Holder
4:00 Fred Marchan
4:10 Richard Wollman
4:20 Jennifer Barber
4:30 Janury O’Neil
Post a Comment